OShoala 1

Super Falcons star Asisat Oshoala won the CAF Women’s player of the year award for the fifth time, while Sadio Mane beat competition from Mohamed Salah and Edouard Mendy to claim the Men’s prize.

Oshoala was voted ahead of Cameroon’s Inter Milan player Ajara Nchout Njoya and Grace Chanda, whose Zambia side qualified for the Women’s World Cup for the first time earlier this month.

It is Oshoala’s fifth CAF player of the year award, the most for an African player in either the men’s or women’s category.

Oshoala was previously tied with former Super Falcons star Perpetua Nkwocha who won the award four times before her retiring.

Asisat Oshoala Wins African Women's Player Of The Year Award

However, the 27-year-old has now broken her tie with the Nigerian legend, adding to the previous awards she won in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2019.

Oshoala dedicated her award to Nigeria’s Super Falcons, praising the players for the heart they showed when losing Monday’s Women’s Africa Cup of Nations semi-final on penalties despite playing nearly an hour with only nine players.

Meanwhile in the men’s category, Mane picked up his second consecutive African player of the year award, beating Salah and Mendy to the prize.

The Senegalese star had won his first in 2019 before deservedly winning his second on Thursday night.

Mane’s prize was one of five picked up by Senegal in a total of seven men’s categories after a night to remember for the West African nation.

Sadio Mane pictured with his trophy after winning the 2022 African Footballer of the Year award

Long-standing Senegalese boss Aliou Cisse won coach of the year, with his side named men’s team of the year, while Pape Sarr was named young player of the year and another Senegalese, Pape Ousmane Sakho, won best goal for his overhead kick for Tanzanian side Simba.

In another category, South Africa coach Desiree Ellis was named women’s coach of the year for the third time in a row, after previous successes in 2018 and 2019.

African and Moroccan champions Wydad Casablanca took the club of the year prize for the second time in a row, while Egypt goalkeeper Mohamed El Shenawy, whose Nations Cup ended early because of injury, was named the Interclub Player of the year.

See the full list of the winners of CAF 2022 awards below:

Women’s Club of the Year: Mamelodi Sundowns

Men’s Club of the Year: Wydad AC

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Evelyn Badu

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Mohamed El Shennawy

Women’s Young Player of the Year: Evelyn Badu

Men’s Young Player of the Year: Pape Matar Sarr

Men’s National Team of the Year: Senegal

Goal of the Year: Pape Sakho

Coach of the Year (Women’s): Desiree Ellis

Coach of the Year (Men’s): Aliou Cisse

Player of the Year (Women’s): Asisat Oshoala

Player of the Year (Men’s): Sadio Mane

The women’s team of the year will be announced after Saturday’s final, when Banyana Banyana of South Africa meet hosts Morocco

By Amara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *