goalgist 76

Moses Simon and Akinkunmi Amoo have been shortlisted in the nominees’ list for the Confederation of African Football Awards 2022.

English Premier League stars Riyad Mahrez and Mohamed Salah, as well as Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mane were also nominated to contest for the 2022 CAF Player of the Year award.

Simon, who plays for Nantes, was the only Nigerian player nominated in the Player of The Year category.

The Jos-born speedster was pivotal to Nantes 2021/22 season, where they finished ninth in the Ligue 1 and won the Coupe de France after beating Nice in the final.

Amoo, on the other hand, was nominated in the Young Player of the Year category alongside nine others.

The 20-year-old won the Danish Super Liga with FC Copenhagen in the 2021/22 season having come from Swedish side Hammarby, where he won the Svenska Cupen in 2020.

Amoo was part of the Nigerian U-17 squad which competed at the CAF U-17 AFCON and the FIFA U-17 World Cup both in 2019, and later promoted to the senior team.

Meanwhile, the 30-man Men’s Player of The Year category was notably missing Super Eagles striker Victor Osimhen who plays at Napoli in the Italian Serie A.

In the other hand, Liverpool’s Salah would be hoping to win the diadem for the third time, albeit, he must negotiate his way past Manchester City’s Mahrez and Mane, who recently left Liverpool for Bayern Munich after the completion of the 2021-22 season.

Other awards that will be contested for include Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year.

The ceremony will be held ahead of the final of the Women’s Cup of Nations (WAFCON) – a competition scheduled to take place between July 2 and July 23 – in Morocco.

The period under consideration is from September 2021 to June 2022 at all levels.

Full list of nominees for 2022 CAF Awards

Player of the Year (Men)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Aston Villa)

Blati Toure (Burkina Faso & Pyramids)

Edmund Tapsoba (Burkina Faso & Bayer Leverkusen)

Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon & Napoli)

Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Lyon)

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)

Youssouf M’Changama (Comoros & Guingamp)

Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)

Sebastien Haller (Cote d’Ivoire & Ajax)

Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Mohamed Elneny (Egypt & Arsenal)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Mohamed Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Musa Barrow (Gambia & Bologna)

Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)

Hamari Traore (Mali & Rennes)

Yves Bissouma (Mali & Tottenham Hotspur)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)

Sofiane Boufal (Morocco & Angers)

Yahya Jabrane (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Yassine Bounou (Morocco & Sevilla)

Moses Simon (Nigeria & Nantes)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Nampalys Mendy (Senegal & Leicester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Saliou Ciss (Senegal & Nancy)

Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Riad Benayad (ES Setif)

Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico)

Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas)

Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly)

Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly)

Mohamed Shenawy (Al Ahly)

Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly)

Percy Tau (Al Ahly)

Morlaye Sylla (Horoya)

Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club)

Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)

Zouhair El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)

Mouhcine Moutouali (Raja Club Athletic)

Issoufou Dayo (RS Berkane)

Youssou El Fahli (RS Berkane)

Victorien Adebayor (Niger & Union Sportive Gendarmerie Nationale)

Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Bandile Shandu (Orlando Pirates)

Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Esperance Sportive de Tunis)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso & Lorient)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)

Jesus Owono (Equatorial Guinea & Alaves)

James Gomez (The Gambia & AC Horsens)

Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana & Rennes)

Ilaix Moriba Kourouma (Guinea & Valencia)

El Bilal Toure (Mali & Reims)

Akinkunmi Amoo (Nigeria & FC Copenhagen)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Metz)

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Kamou Malo (Burkina Faso)

Amir Abdou (Comoros)

Carlos Quieroz (Egypt)

Pitso Mosimane (Al Ahly)

Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)

Florent Ibenge (RS Berkane)

Vahid Halilhodzic (Morocco)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Mandla Ncikazi (Orlando Pirates)

National Team of the Year (Men)

Burkina Faso




Equatorial Guinea

The Gambia





Club of the Year (Men)
ES Setif (Algeria)

Petro Atletico (Angola)

TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

Ahli Tripoli (Libya)

Al Ittihad (Libya)

Raja Club Athletic (Morocco)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Orlando Pirates (South Africa)

The nominees for the Women’s categories will be announced in due course.

By Amara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *