Goalgist1 47

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and Chelsea’s Sam Kerr have won the men’s and women’s PFA players’ player of the year awards.

The pair won the Golden Boot in 2021-22 as top scorer in the English Premier League and Women’s Super League respectively.

Manchester City’s Phil Foden, 22, won the young player of the year award for the second consecutive season.

Lauren Hemp, 21, who plays for City in the WSL, was named the young player of the season for a record-breaking fourth season in a row.

That makes the England international the most decorated PFA award winner ever across all categories.

Manchester City pair Phil Foden and Lauren Hemp scooped the PFA Young Player of the Year award for the 2021/22 season
Manchester City duo Phil Foden and Lauren Hempย 

Egypt’s Salah becomes the sixth male player to win two PFA player of the year awards, after Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Gareth Bale and last year’s winner Kevin de Bruyne.

Salah scored 24 English Premier League goals, level with Son Heung-min, as Liverpool missed out on the title by one point to City. He also provided 14 assists in the league – and won the Carabao Cup and FA Cup.

Salah, who also won in 2018, said:

I have my room with trophies in a cabinet and I made sure I had space for one more.

I always keep space and just try to imagine the trophies are going to come.

Chelsea’s Kerr is the first Australian to win the a senior player award after scoring 20 WSL goals and helping the Blues to the Double.

She said:

It’s a massive honour whenever you’re voted by your peers. I think that’s the highest honour as a player.

Foden – who helped City to the title – is the sixth player to win back-to-back young player awards after Ryan Giggs, Robbie Fowler, Wayne Rooney, Dele Alli and Hemp, who has won four in a row.

Hemp, who won her first one as a 17-year-old in 2018, said:

It’s an honour to get this again. “I look to many of them [players] as role models so it’s an honour to be picked by them.

Former England managers Roy Hodgson and Hope Powell were given the PFA Merit Award for their outstanding contributions to football.

Six of the English Premier League team of the year came from Liverpool, with only three from champions City. Champions Chelsea provided four of the WSL team of the year.

The Teams of the Year:

English Premier League: Alisson, Alexander-Arnold, Van Dijk (all Liverpool), Rudiger (Chelsea), Cancelo, De Bruyne (both Man City), Thiago (Liverpool), Silva (Man City), Mane (Liverpool), Ronaldo (Man Utd), Salah (Liverpool).

England’s Women’s Super League: Berger (Chelsea), Batlle (Man Utd), Williamson (Arsenal), Bright (Chelsea), Greenwood (Man City), Little (Arsenal), Weir (Man City), Reiten (Chelsea), Hemp (Man City), Kerr (Chelsea), Miedema (Arsenal).

By Amara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *