Goalgist 34

Coach Desiree Ellis on Monday announced his final 23-man South Africa squad for the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations, with regular suspects like Andile Dlamini, Refiloe Jane and Lebohang Ramalepe.

Spain-based Kholosa Biyana made the cut alongside JVW’s Janine Van Wyk and Djurgadens midfielder Linda Motlhalo.

Also making the shortlist is Dinamo Minsk defender Lebohang Ramalepe, Tut’s Nomvula Kgoale alongside Sibuelele Holweni who represents Sophakama/HPC.

The Southern African side are making their 13th appearance in the biennial African tournament, and they would be gunning to lift the diadem for the first time ever.

They finished as runners-up at the last outing – losing to eventual winners Super Falcons in a thrilling penalty shoot-out.


Goalkeepers: Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kaylin Swart, (JVW), Regirl Ngobeni (UWC)

Defenders: Karabo Dhlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebohang Ramalepe (Dinamo Minsk), Janine Van Wyk (JVW), Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongeka Gamede (University of the Western Cape), Noko Matlou (Eibar)

Midfielders: Refiloe Jane (AC Milan), Nomvula Kgoale (Tut), Linda Motlhalo (Djurgardens), Thalea Smidt (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kholosa Biyana (Sporting Gijon), Amogelang Motau (University of Western Cape), Robyn Moodaly (JVW), Sibulele Holweni (Sophakama/HPC)

Strikers: Jermaine Seoposenwe (Braga), Melinda Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns), Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape), Nthabiseng Majiya (Richmond Ladies), Thembi Kgatlana (Atletico Madrid), Hildah Magaia (Moron)

By Amara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *